Show Menu


These are the most frequently asked questions about the Order of Malta.

1) What is the Order of Malta?

The Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St. John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta, better known as the Sovereign Order of Malta, has a two-fold nature. It is one of the most ancient Catholic Religious Orders, founded in Jerusalem in around 1048. At the same time it has always been recognised by nations as an independent subject of international law.
The Order’s mission is summed up in its motto ‘Tuitio Fidei et Obsequium Pauperum’: nurturing, witnessing and protecting the Christian faith (tuitio fidei) and serving the poor and the sick (obsequium pauperum). 

2) What do we mean by saying that it is a religious order?

The Order was born as a monastic community inspired by St. John the Baptist. This community, which was created by Amalfitan Merchants around 1048, ran a hospice providing care and shelter for pilgrims to the Holy Land. In 1113 it received formal acknowledgement as a religious Order from Pope Paschal II. Before the loss of the island of Malta (1798) most of the knights were religious, having taken the three vows of poverty, chastity and obedience. 
Today, although some members of the Order are professed knights (having taken the three vows of poverty, chastity and obedience), others have pronounced only the promise of obedience. Most of the Order’s 13,500 knights and dames are lay members. Although they have not pronounced any religious vow, they are devoted to exercising charity, and developing their spirituality within the Church and to care for those in need.

3) Is it a military order?

The Order had to become military to protect the pilgrims and the sick and to defend the Christian territories in the Holy Land. The Order ceased to carry out this function when it lost Malta (1798). Today the Order preserves only the military traditions.

4) Is it a chivalrous order?

Traditionally Knights of the Order belonged to chivalrous and noble families of the Christian world. The Order is still a chivalrous order today as it has maintained the values of chivalry and nobility. Although the majority of its members no longer come from ancient noble families, they are admitted because of manifest merits towards the Church and the Order.

5) What are the works of the Order?

The Order of Malta works in the field of medical and social care and humanitarian aid, in over 120 countries, supported by the diplomatic relations it currently has with 113 nations. The Order also runs hospitals, medical centres, day hospitals, nursing homes for the elderly and the disabled, and special centres for the terminally ill . In many countries the Order’s volunteer corps provide first aid, social services, emergency and humanitarian interventions. 
Malteser International, the Order’s worldwide relief service, works in the front line in natural disasters and armed conflicts. 
For over 50 years, the Order has been dealing extensively with the treatment of leprosy – a disease that unfortunately still plagues various areas of the world – through its CIOMAL foundation (International Committee of the Order of Malta). 
The Order is also engaged in the cultural field.

6) How is the Order Governed?

The government of the Sovereign Order of Malta has a similar structure to state governments. However it also includes specific features associated with its nature as a religious lay order, as well as particular terminology evolved from nine centuries of history. The life and activities of the Order are governed by its Constitutional Charter and its Code. 
The head of the Order is the Grand Master who governs both as sovereign and as religious superior, and is assisted by the Sovereign Council, which he chairs. From 3 May 2023, the Sovereign Military Order of Malta is governed by the 81st Grand Master, Fra’ John Dunlap.

7) What is the international organisation of the Order?

Today, the Order Associations and organisations are present in 54 countries: the Order has 5 Grand Priories, 6 Subpriories and 48 National Associations.

8) How many members does the Order have?

The Order is made up of more than 13,500 Knights and Dames.

9) Where have the main humanitarian missions been carried out in recent years?

The most significant aid projects have been carried out in Kosovo and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, India, in Southeast Asia after the Tsunami and in Afghanistan and more recently in Pakistan, Mexico, Congo, South Sudan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Georgia, Haiti, Syria, Ukraine.  

10) How does one become a member of the Order?

One can become a member of the Order of Malta only by invitation. Only persons of undoubted Christian morality and practice, who have acquired merit with regard to the Sovereign Order, its institutions and its works are eligible for admission. The relevant Grand Priory or National Association is responsible for proposals of admission.

11) How does one become a volunteer?

Volunteers are most welcome. You should ask the National Association of your country. Please see also the section ‘The Order in the World’ on the international website ( for a list of Order organisations in the various countries.

12) How are the Order’s diplomatic activities conducted?

In accordance with public international law, the Order maintains bilateral diplomatic relations with more than 110 countries. It also has permanent observer status at the United Nations and the European Union as well as in several International Organisations such as the FAO and UNESCO. Diplomatic relations allow the Order to intervene with timely and effective action in the event of natural disaster or armed conflict. Due to its neutral, impartial and non-political nature, the Order can act as a mediator whenever a State requests its intervention to settle a dispute.

13) How are the Order’s activities financed?

Several social care activities are funded by its members. Funds come from private donations and vary according to different countries and situations. Resources for hospitals and medical activities usually come from agreements stipulated with the national health and social systems. The same is true for emergency services. Funds also come from donations or benefactors’ contributions to the Order’s activities. 

14) Where is the Order based?

After the loss of the island of Malta, the Order settled permanently in Rome, Italy, in 1834. Its two seats, granted with extraterritoriality, are the Magistral Palace in Via dei Condotti 68 – where the Grand Master resides and Government Bodies meet – and the Magistral Villa on the Aventine. The latter hosts the Grand Priory of Rome.



The mission of the Order of Malta is inspired by its tradition of ‘Tuitio Fidei et Obsequium Pauperum', to assist the poor and the sick, and bear witness to the Christian faith.


The Sovereign Order of Malta is a sovereign subject of international law. The Order - which is based in Rome, in via Condotti - has its own Government, an independent magistracy, and bilateral diplomatic relations with 110 countries.


The Order of St John of Jerusalem is one of the oldest institutions of Western and Christian civilisation. Present in Palestine in around 1048, it is a lay religious Order, traditionally of military, chivalrous, noble nature.